Shown Above  L-R:  Commissioner John Smoak, Lori Batallier, NRCS District Conservationist; Debbie Eckard, District Manager;           Dwight Davis, Chairman of SWCD;  Bill Simpson, District Chairman,  Charleston Conservation District;  Mickey Floyd, Treasurer; and       Ford Walpole, newly elected Commissioner; and not shown: Kathy Woolsey - Commissioner.


Charleston Soil & Water Conservation District passed on their Winning "Outstanding Conservation District of the Year Pump Award" at the Partnership Conference held February, 23-24, 2015.  As a past winner of this award, the outgoing District is honored with a permanent Award that commemorates their past year accomplishments.  These awards and recognitions are presented in front of other Conservation District peers and partnering agencies at a special Award's Luncheon.  The Charleston District would like to thank the Selection Board and partnering Agencies for acknowledging us and we join this very prestigious group of Districts who have come before us!


             Charleston Soil & Water Conservation District Selected as                        "Outstanding Conservation District of the Year for 2013!"

On February  25, 2014  at the State Annual Partnership Conference in Columbia, SC, Charleston Soil & Water Conservation District was awarded the " 2013 Conservation District of the Year" award. 

This prestigeous award is a coveted award that is given to one of 46 Conservation Districts across the state of South Carolina who excel in areas of conservation education outreach.  

Charleston District is proud of its past successes and even more proud of the current and ongoing outreach programs and projects in soil and water quality education. 

Each year the South Carolina Association of Conservation Districts selects a Conservation District that they feel is deserving of "Conservation District of the Year"!  The selection committee looks for Districts that are committed to the preservation of Soil & Water Conservation through their Programs and Educational Outreach in their County.  These honored Districts are honored in front of their peers and other Partnering Agencies at the annual SCACD Partnership Conference in Columbia.  Winning Districts receive a traveling "Pump Award" to take back to their District office to display for a year.  At the end of that year they then "pass the pump" to the newly selected District of the Year, and are presented with a permanent award to be displayed in their office commemorating their accomplishments.

Shown Below:  Front Row:  William S. Simpson, III - Chairman, Debbie Eckard-District Manager, John Smoak-Vice Chairman and             Lisa Hajjar- Grant Project Manager. 

Back Row:  John Kozma - Commissioner, Diane Leone - NRCS Supervisory District Conservationist, and M. F. "Mickey" Floyd -Treasurer

Not shown:  Kathy Woolsey - Commissioner


Make a free website with Yola